Juice, juice, juice…

I have pretty amazing friends.

One of my long-time family friends loaned me a juicer! It’s a total dinosaur; it’s heavy and it’s loud, but it makes fresh juice and it’s in my kitchen! It’s one of those things that has been passed around for years I suppose. My friend used it for about a year and then bought her own Omega Juicer and so donated the dino to me. She said the only rule was that when I get my new state-of-the-art juicer that I pay it forward. Yes ma’am.

So, in honor of my wonderful friend with her shiny new Omega Juicer, here are some juice recipes that I have made over the past few days that I found quite tasty…

Veggie Love.

Whole Foods “Green Giant” imitation… 

  • 2 kale leaves
  • Hand-full of spinach
  • 1 swiss chard leaf
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1 medium cucumber
  • 1 peeled lemon
  • 1 thumb-size of ginger
  • 2 green apples

Summertime zucchini quencher… This was my first one to juice and it’s so good! I might even use 2 zucchini next time! Info on juicing zucchini: http://www.bestliquidvitamins.com/Zucchini.html

  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 2 green apples
  • 4 carrots

Juice magic!

Here are a few I haven’t tried yet, but I couldn’t wait to share!…

Sweet potatoes?… Research has shown that vitamin B6 reduces the risk of heart disease. Sweet potatoes are also packed with potassium which control blood pressure and is rich in fiber which helps you feel full! When digested, sweet potatoes have a slow digestion rate due to the fiber and complex carbohydrates which in turn stabilizes an individuals insulin levels.

  • 1 beet with tops
  • 1/2 medium sweet potato
  • 3 carrots
For immunity… (for “teacher Lindsey!”) Ginger like garlic is used to treat many conditions. Ginger is used to promote the release of intestinal gas, due to it’s carminative compound. Ginger helps with seasickness, dizziness, cold sweating, inhibitor of inflammatory compounds, antioxidant properties, nausea and vomiting that is usually associated with pregnancy and much more. (Select fresh ginger that looks fresh. Store ginger in the refrigerator.)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • Thumb size slice of ginger
  • Hand-full of parsley
  • 3 carrots
  • 1 apple
Green drink love… Kale is rich in vitamins and minerals like calcium, potassium, iron and have anticancer properties. This makes it perfect for juicing. Kale is also rich in fiber and detoxifies your entire system. You should select kale that is fresh, dark green and tender.
  • Hand-full of spinach
  • Hand-full of parsley
  • 2 apples
  • 2 kale leaves
Salad in a cup…  Bell peppers are one of the most nutrient-dense vegetables that you will find, also they are packed with vitamin C. Red bell peppers also have higher levels of nutrients compared to green bell peppers. According to research, bell peppers contain substances that have been shown to prevent blood clot formation which reduces chances of heart attack and stroke. (Select fresh, firm and bright bell peppers. One thing to remember when juicing bell peppers is that organic is the way to go!)

  • 4 parsley springs
  • 3 tomatoes
  • 1/2 green bell pepper
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 1 scallion
  • 1 lemon wedge
  • First wrap the parsley around the tomato and add it into the juicer, then the green bell pepper, cucumber, scallion, and lemon.
.

I also really like this idea of something to do with the juice pulp… http://juicingsaturdaystrategy.com/juice-pulp-burgers/

I promise to post more juicing recipes as I fall deeper in love with my juicer…

References:

FitLife.tv – Juicing recipes 

Healthy-eating-habit.com – Juicing recipes

Omega Juicers – Recipes for juicing

4 comments on “Juice, juice, juice…

  1. Marcia Hart says:

    Great recipes! Thanks for sharing. As you suggested I am having juice tonight for dinner. When the dino vibrates, I anchor with one hand. Sometimes you’ll just have to stop and clean it.

    Like

  2. Claire says:

    Very cool! M & I want to start juicing. Maybe when you buy your new juicer, we can use Dino for a while. 🙂

    Like

    • lindseyogabliss says:

      Absolutely! I would love to pay it forward back into your family! I’m hoping to get one in August for graduation so maybe you’ll get the dino soon!

      Like

I love to hear your thoughts...

