Juice fast, day 2…

Besides the fact that it stormed last night which lead to an 85lb dog laying on top of me quivering… I slept really well.  This morning I got up and piddled around before I made my  juice so I wasn’t incredibly hungry when I woke up. However, by the time I was making the juice I was pretty hungry. Lesson learned.

It may be a juice-fast no-no, but I think keeping coconut water on hand for when you need that extra kick is a good idea. Coconut water has natural electrolytes and lots of potassium. So drink up.

What I juiced today…

Green Giant: There is supposed to be spinach in this one but I forgot. It is still one of my favorites. (recipe makes approx. 10 oz. juice)

  • 2 kale leaves
  • 2 swiss chard leaves (I used red chard)
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1 medium cucumber (with skin)
  • 1 peeled lemon
  • 1 thumb-size of ginger
  • 1 green apple

Detox Filler: This juice is supposed to satisfy hunger cravings throughout the detox days. Juice the carrots, apples and celery and then put the juice in a blender with the banana. The banana does give the juice a more filling feeling. (recipe makes approx. 16 oz. juice)

  • 2 carrots
  • 1 green apple
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1 banana

Detox filler

Best Beets: This one definitely tastes like beets, but the lime gives it a good kick. Juice the beets, strawberries, and lime then add the juice to the coconut water. (recipe makes approx. 24 oz. juice)

Caropple Zinger: I usually make this one with a whole green apple but I cut it in half simply because it’s night time and I try to keep my fruits down at night (because of sugars). (recipe makes approx. 8 oz. juice)

  • 4 carrots
  • 1/2 green apple
  • 1 thumb-size of ginger

Total liquid consumed today: 58 oz.

Hungry?… Why are there so many pizza commercials on TV during the Olympics? I’m craving a homemade veggie lovers pizza today. Other than random cravings (especially when I smell cooked food), I actually feel satisfied.

Energy?… My dad asked me to do something today and I said, “but that will interfere with my strict schedule of nothing.” I was joking, of course. But I’m definitely soaking up the blissful nothingness this week since the summer semester was far from relaxing. So I think I have a normal level of energy but I’m definitely not utilizing it. I wish I could tell you that I’m out biking or hiking or spending all day in the yoga studio… but I’m not. I have however, done laundry, written thank-you notes, gone to the grocery store, and done some light yoga at home. I do plan on being outside more tomorrow and making it to a pm yoga class.

I love to hear your thoughts...

