Juice fast, day 3…

Stay busy. Stay out of the kitchen.

I’ve read that days 2 & 3 are the worst days for hunger cravings so I got up early and pre-made my juice for a day outdoors. I drank the Green Giant before I left and packed the Caropple Zinger in a water bottle (then put it in a lunch box with an ice pack) and headed out the door. It definitely helped with my cravings to be out of the house.

What I juiced today…

First thing in the morning I had  warm water with lemon. I’ve been hearing great things about this so I decided to try it. See the Mind Body Green article to read more about it: MindBodyGreen: Why you should drink warm water & lemon. 

Green Giant: Same as yesterday. This is one of my faves. (I measured this one today and it made 16 oz. juice)

  • 2 kale leaves
  • 2 swiss chard leaves
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1 medium cucumber (with skin)
  • 1 peeled lemon
  • 1 thumb-size of ginger
  • 1 green apple
  • Several hand-fulls of spinach

Caropple Zinger (with Spinach): Same one as yesterday but I added spinach. Juiced spinach has no taste to me so I just added it for the extra nutrients! (recipe makes approx. 8 oz. juice)

  • 4 carrots
  • 1/2 apple
  • Several hand-fulls of spinach
  • 1 thumb-size of ginger

Berry-beet-licous: I made this one up myself. I was craving fruits this afternoon so I grabbed everything in my fridge and started juicing. It’s pretty good! (recipe makes approx. 10 oz. juice)

  • 1 cup strawberries
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 green apple
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 kale leaves
  • Several hand-fulls of spinach
  • 1/2 lime
  • 1/2 large beet
  • 1 kiwi

Best Broccoli: First time to juice broccoli. Refreshing. Definitely a new favorite. (recipe makes approx. 8 oz. juice)

  • 1 cup broccoli pieces
  • 3 carrots
  • 1/2 green apple
  • 1 bunch of parsley
  • 1/2 lemon

Total juice consumption: 42 oz.

Hungry?… When I got home around 2:30pm I was pretty hungry and craving fruit. Other than that, I only craved a specific food if I saw it or smelled it cooking. I believe it’s a mental hunger… I’m not hungry, but I miss the actual act of eating, chewing food, sitting around the table with friends, etc. While I was juicing today it took a lot of self control not to pick up a piece of kiwi and just eat it.

Energy?… Normal. I haven’t experienced any crazy surge of energy or vice-versa.

I love to hear your thoughts...

