Quickie juice fast…

This weekend, due to massive amounts of candy corn and other Halloween treats floating around at my work (one of the perks of working with kids), I decided to juice fast. It’s a quickie… just two days.

My grocery list… When doing a short juice fast I stick to the recipes that I know are good and ingredients that are easy to find. I went to Whole Foods Market and only spent $35!!!

  • Carrots (one large bag – approx. 10)
  • Kale (2 bunches)
  • Cucumbers (2)
  • Celery (2 bunches)
  • Bananas (2 or 3)
  • Green apples (5 or 6)
  • Ginger (1 small root)
  • Lemon (2)
  • Spinach (1 large container – 10 oz.)

My beau came over to my house after I had stocked up for the weekend and said, “There’s a garden in your fridge!” If only I could grow all of these things in my own garden…

What I like about a short juice fast…

  • I feel like I’m getting a super blast of fruits and vegetables.
  • That cleansing feeling.
  • Now that I have cleansed, detoxed, and reset I feel that I am ready to make better food choices and keep my body “clean.” Here’s to resisting sweets at work!

Recipes… I have posted all of these recipes before, I find them the easiest.

Green Giant:  My absolute fave.

  • 2 Kale leaves
  • 2 Swiss Chard leaves (I left this one out, it still tastes good!)
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 1 medium cucumber (with skin)
  • 1 or ½ lemon
  • 1 thumb-size of ginger
  • Several hand-fulls of spinach

Detox Filler:  Days 1 and 2 are often the hardest days, which means when only juicing for 2 days you’ll need all you can to feel satiated. The banana helps to make you feel more satiated than other juices. Juice the carrots, apples, and celery first then put the juice in a blender with the banana.

  • 2 carrots
  • 1 green apple
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 1 banana
  • Optional: add kale or spinach

Caropple Zinger (with spinach):

  • 4 carrots
  • 1 apple
  • Several hand-fulls of spinach
  • 1 thumb-size of ginger

*Tip: I like to add spinach or kale to every recipe even if it’s not called for. It packs in the nutrients and I can’t really taste a difference!

Coming soon: There’s a pose for that… Your immune system

One comment on “Quickie juice fast…

  1. That is great.A Juice Cleanse may be a good way toward your body. You’ll have the superimposed edges of a loss in weight, glowing skin and additional energy. So, get Juicing!

    Like

I love to hear your thoughts...

